Skip to main content
Producing Champions Since 1931

Boxing Champions

The Pat Benson Championship Roll Of Honor

On the wall of our Adderley Street boxing gym is a famous belt with the names of National Champions dating back to 1931. It’s a poignant reminder of the club’s long and rich history, which was being carved out decades before our current national champions were even born.

Since the club’s reinvention at the new Adderley Street premises in 2006, the club has continued to produce regional and national champions.

Matthew Macklin

Senior Amateur Boxing Champion, 2001 World title challenger

At just 10 years old, Matthew Macklin first walked through the doors of Small Heath ABC. Exactly 18 years to the day after his first fight on St.Patricks Day 1994, Macklin fought for the World Middleweight Championship against Sergio Martinez at Madison Square Garden in New York City. This was Macklin’s second of three attempts to become World Champion, the other two being against Gennady Golovkin and Felix Sturm – the Sturm fight being regarded as one of the worst decisions of the modern era.

As an amateur, Macklin won the NABC’s twice, the Junior and Senior ABA’s in his first year. He also boxed for England at Schoolboy, Young England and Senior levels and in 2000 was named young boxer of the year. As a professional, Macklin would also go on to win the European Middleweight title twice alongside the British and Irish titles too.

Macklin reminisces

“I’m proud of what I achieved in boxing and it was a fantastic journey that all started at the Small Heath ABC gym on fazeley street. I boxed there from the age of 11 up until 18 and will cherish those memories forever.”

Pat Benson Champions


1931 National Champion, 8st (stones)


1932-34 National Champion, 8st


1935 National Champion, 8st 6lbs


1937-38 National Champion


1964 National Champion 8st 7lbs

Paul and Mark Ramsey

1987 Senior ABA titles


1989 Light Middle ABA Champion


1990 Light Weight ABA Champion

Rowan Anthony Williams

1992 competed in the flyweight division at the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games.

Matthew Macklin

1998 ABA National Junior Champion

Matthew Macklin

2000 Senior ABA title at the age of 18

Frankie Gavin

2002 future world amateur champion, wins National Schoolboy Title for Small Heath

Paddy Benson

2007 National Universities Champion

Bradley Savage

2012 Redditch Box-Cup Champion

Connor Benson and Connor Goodchild

2013 Both represent England select team VS Wales

Louis Regan

2014 National Schools champion

Louis Regan

2014 GB Tri-Nations Champion

Isral McKenzie

2016 National Junior Cadet Champion

Isral McKenzie

2016 NAGBC National Champion

Cianan Folan

2016 CEB Senior Welterweight Title

Cianan Foalan

2016 Celtic Box-Cup Champion

Michael Sweeney

2019 Midland Schoolboy title

Brandon Lynch

2021 Midlands Development Champion and National Finalist

Boma Brown

2022 Elite Midlands Belt

Eniola Ekingbesote

2024 Midlands Champion

Kauis Testouri

2024 National Universities Champion

Rehan Fiyaz

2024 Midlands Box Cup Champion

Rowan Anthony Williams

One of Pat’s most successful proteges
Rowan Anthony Williams, competed in the flyweight division at the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games. This is an incredible achievement for the club, for the boxer and for our founder, Pat Benson. Pat is one of only two coaches in Birmingham to train an Olympian, in addition to Senior National Elite Champions. Rowan started well in the tournament, beating Stephen Ahialey, of Ghana, 11 points to 3, where he reached the Quarter Finals. He was just one victory away from a Bronze medal, before he was defeated in the Quarter Finals by Roel Velasco of the Philippines, by 17 points to 6.

Barney Burns

Irish born Barney Burns was one of the most talented exports of the Emerald Isle.

Winning three National titles for Small Heath, he boxed for Europe against America in the 60s, an incredible achievement which sets the mark for future young boxers aiming to leave their mark on Birmingham’s fight culture.

The roll of honour is much longer, however, with Shaun Cogan, Mark Sperin, Mick Harkin and Dean Redmond winning National Irish Championships, in addition to John McBean and Dean Ward winning National Junior Titles, Marjhit Singh winning a National schools Title and Paddy Benson winning a British Universities Title.

Our Promise

Loyalty, Commitment, Perseverance & Resilience
Pat Benson Boxing Academy